1. To consolidate development efforts

2. To set a roadmap for future development priorities

3. To grow the user community, and especially to encourage sideways interaction between users

We will set aside each afternoon of the workshop as a hackfest, to collaboratively implement new features and tests


Monday 18 June 2018
9.00 – 9.20 Daniel Price Introduction to Phantom: Scientific motivation
9.20 – 10.10 Guillaume Laibe Lecture: Dust and gas in SPH (part I)
10.10 – 10.30 Rebecca Nealon Discs warped by misaligned planets
10.30 – 11.00 Coffee Break
11.00 – 11.20 Andrea Sacchi Rotation in tidal disruption events
11.20 – 11.40 Guillaume Laibe Linear growth of streaming instability in pressure bumps
11.40 – 12.00 Daniel Mentiplay Planets in the TW Hya disc
12.00 – 12.30 J-F Gonzalez Back-reaction of dust on gas in protoplanetary discs: crucial, yet often overlooked
12.30 – 12.50 Hossam Aly Disc Orbital Precession Around Eccentric Binaries: Application to the GG Tau A System
12.50 – 13.00 João Rocha Numerical study of tidal disruption events with different penetration parameters
13.00 – 14.00 Lunch
14.00 – 17.00 Phantom Workshop/Hackathon
Tuesday 19 June 2018
9.00 – 9.50 Giovanni Dipierro Lecture: Dust and gas in SPH (part II)
9.50 – 10.10 Mark Hutchison MULTIGRAIN: a healthier alternative
10.10 – 10.30 Sergei Biriukov Kernels and second derivatives in SPH
10.30 – 11.00 Coffee Break
11.00 – 11.20 James Wurster Magnetised dust in star formation: A proposal
11.20 – 11.40 Giulia Ballabio Modelling of the observed structure in HL Tau: Simulating dust in SPH
11.40 – 12.00 Arnaud Vericel Dust growth in Phantom
12.00 – 12.20 Kieran Hirsh Cavity opening in circumbinary discs
12.20 – 12.40 Esther Taillifet Fortree: A new tool to visualise code structure
12.40 – 14.00 Lunch
14.00 – 17.00 Phantom Workshop/Hackathon
Wednesday 20 June 2018
9.00 – 9.50 David Liptai General relativity and how to do it properly in SPH
9.50 – 10.10 Martina Toscani Gravitational waves from Papaloizou-Pringle instabilities in tidal disruption events
10.10 – 10.30 Mark Fletcher Code comparison project for migration of massive planets embedded in massive protoplanetary discs
10.30 – 11.00 Coffee Break
11.00 – 11.20 Giovanni Dipierro Dust gap opening in protoplanetary discs with PHANTOM
11.20 – 11.40 Benedetta Veronesi To couple or not to couple, that is the question
11.40 – 12.00 Daniel Price HD142527: A crime scene investigation
12.00 – 12.20 Giuseppe Lodato
A phantom wishlist and roadmap for development
12.30 – 14.00 Lunch
14.00 – 16.00 Phantom workshop/Hackathon
16.00 – 17.00 Presentations from hackfest + final discussion

Participants are welcome to stay on at the University of Milano into Thursday for continued collaboration

Conference dinner


Click here to register. Be quick! Early bird closes 31/5/18 and numbers are limited.

If you do not wish to give a talk or poster, just enter "none" for the title and abstract.


The workshop will be held in "Aula Polvani", close to the main entrance of the Physics Department in via Celoria 16, 20133, Milano. Below or by clicking here you will find a map of the area.

How to reach the department from Airports:
LINATE: Bus 73 at the airport toward the city centre, then bus n. 93. A taxi ride from the airport to the department costs around 20 €.
BERGAMO-ORIO: Shuttle to the central train station, then metro green line (linea M2) up to the stop Piola, then ten minutes walking. A taxi ride to the department costs around 100 €.
MALPENSA: Shuttle to the central train station, then metro green line (linea M2) up to the stop Piola, then ten minutes walking. A taxi ride to the department costs around 100 €.

Most of you will have already sorted out your accommodation, but if you are looking for a hotel, here is a list of nearby ones:
Hotel Dieci — A good nearby 4-star hotel
Hotel Gamma — A 3-star hotel
Hotel Lugano — A 3-star hotel


Daniel Price (Monash)
Giuseppe Lodato (Milan)
James Wurster (Exeter)
Giovanni Dipierro (Leicester)
Hauke Wörpel (Potsdam)
Martina Toscani (Milan)
João Rocha (UEvora)
Mark Fletcher (Leicester)
Hossam Aly (Milan)

Mark Hutchison (Bern/Zurich)
Cassandra Hall (Leicester)
Giulia Ballabio (Leicester)
Elen Golightly (Leicester)
Alessia Franchini (Las Vegas)
Arnaud Vericel (Lyon)
Rebecca Nealon (Leicester)
Benedetta Veronesi (Milan)
J-F Gonzalez (Lyon)

Esther Taillifet (Lyon)
Daniel Mentiplay (Monash)
Sergei Biriukov (Monash)
Kieran Hirsh (Monash)
David Liptai (Monash)
Andrea Sacchi (Milan)
Guillaume Laibe (ENS-Lyon)
Maxime Lombart (ENS-Lyon)
Enrico Ragusa (Milan)
Thomas Hands (Zurich)


Local organising committee

Giuseppe Lodato
Benedetta Veronesi
Daniel Price
Daniel Mentiplay
David Liptai
Sergei Biriukov
Kieran Hirsh

Scientific organising committee

Giuseppe Lodato
Daniel Price
Giovanni Dipierro
Guillaume Laibe